- for scientists with an interest in the extracellular matrix -

Fell Muir Award

Fell Muir Award

At the AGM in Cambridge, 2006, members approved the establishment of a prize to recognize outstanding contributions to matrix biology. The award, sponsored by the International Journal of Experimental Pathology (IJEP), is named after two of the pioneers of matrix biology in this country, Dame Honor Fell FRS (1900-1986) and Professor Helen Muir FRS (1920-2005). An article about Dame Honor Fell,written by Tim Hardingham, is available here.

The award is given to scientists of international stature who can demonstrate outstanding achievement in the field of matrix biology. Preference will be given to candidates who have contributed to the work and aims of the BSMB, although not necessarily from the UK. Candidates are assessed by a sub-committee of the current executive, typically comprising the Chair, Secretary, Treasurer and another committee member, alongside the editor of IJEP (Professor David Katz). The award will consist of a cheque for £1000 and a framed certificate. The winner will be asked to deliver a celebratory lecture at one of the Society’s meetings and to contribute an article to be published in IJEP. 

Previous Winners

Ray Boot-Handford (2018) read article here

Cay Kielty (2017) read article here

Karl Kadler (2016) read article here

Bjorn Olsen (2015) read article here

John Couchman (2014) read article here

John Gallagher (2013) read article here

Roger Mason (2012) read article here

Bruce Caterson (2011) read article here

Gillian Murphy (2010) read article here

Tim Hardingham (2009) read article here

Dick Heinegard (2008) read article here

Mike Grant (2007) read article here